2010 Acadia - towing (AWD vs FWD)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

fwdvsawdacadia

Hello

I'm looking for advice.  I looking into purchasing a 2010 Acadia SLE-2 with the tow package, simply because I have a hybrid trailer (2,900lbs).  Should I purchase an AWD or will the FWD work.

It's a nice SUV. Chevy Acadia (that Gary has) and Buick Enclave. Hopefully, Gary will see this discussion and jump in.

The OP is referring to the GMC version of the Lamba platform of SUVs from GM (Traverse, Acadia, Enclave).  It has the 280 HP 3.6L V6 and is a transverse mount FWD platform with an AWD option.

I think the OP is asking about using the Acadia to tow a trailer, vs. towing the Acadia itself.  I have no experience with that model, but in general I would think while capable, the FWD would be lacking if you wanted to tow on anything other than dry flat pavement.  I would opt for AWD, but again, I've no experience with that model.

I'm looking to purchase a GMC Acadia.  My dilema is, should I purchase an AWD or a FWD.  I'll be pulling a trailer (2,900lbs, dry weight) with it.  All comments are much appreciated.

I've always liked the Acadia's. The specs say it has a towing capacity of #4,500, regardless of version (AWD or FWD), which  should do you fine. That being said, I would opt for the AWD, you never know when you'll need that extra grip. I've had 4WD on just about every truck I've had, and I know I've had to use 4x4 on more than a few occasions when I didn't expect to (i.e. not for just fun or adventuring when I knew I would need it).

I've never had an AWD vehicle, but I've heard they can also be more stable around curves and just overall better in rain and other non-ideal conditions.