Goodyear Tires

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dirko

Hi Ho:  Well, I'm new to this web site, but here goes:  We have a 2000 Itasca Suncruiser with Goodyear tires (245/70R 19.5 F).  Great service, simply time to replace them.  However, it seems to be not so simple.  The most recent date code I've been able to find is over 2 1/2 years old.  The best replacement seems to be:  245/70R 19.5 G G670.

So I send an email to Goodyear Truck tires and get the following reply:  "Due to the downturn in the economy, sales of RV tires has been slow atbest.  Tires that have been in Goodyear warehouses have been stored properly and there should be no ill effects from their shelf life.    Our newest warranty includes a 7 year weather cracking clause."

Further asked when "new" tires would be available and got "No new production scheduled" as a reply.

I don't think I want "new" tires that are over 2 1/2 years old, so now what?

I guess I could go to Michelin, but the sizes don't match exactly, so I would have to buy 7 instead of 6 tires.  Tire dia. for Goodyear G670 is 33.0 inches and for Michelin XZE is 33.6 inches.  I don't think duals would appreciate the difference.
Am I missing something?  Any ideas?

Dirk

Check out Continental, Bridgestone, Yokohama as well.  They all make truck size tires that should fit your wheels.  Just be sure to check the dual spacing.  No good reason to buy 2+ year old tires today.

Wow - what a problem to be confronted with!  I for one would not want to put "new" tires on my coach that already were sitting around for a couple of years.  No thank you.