Monaco diplomat lowering question?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ohorn

Hello everyone!  I have a 1998 Monaco Diplomat DP that I just purchased and I want to store it in my shop but I need to lower it about an inch or two so it will clear the overhead door? My question question is there anyway I can drain t the air from the bags enough to get in the door?  Shop door is 11' 11" and that is the exact heigth of my coach according to my manuals?

You can use the air dump switch to lower the coach but, as soon as you start the engine, it's going to want to inflate the air bags. If the air pressure is too low, the brakes won't release and you won't be able to move the coach. I went through this with our Monaco Camelot - see here. OTOH since you only need an inch, you might get away with it.

Thanks fro the reply my dump seems to only lower the front of my coach is that normal for this coach?  Also is there any adjustments that can be made to lower the ride height?  I know if I have to I can lower the tire pressure and gain some clearence but was lookig for another way?

Thanks!

If you permanently lower the ride height you can cause major problems. The angle of the drive shaft to the transmission is critical and lowering the ride height will change the angle.

I believe your Diplomat sits on the Roadmaster RR8R chassis. All 8 air bags should dump, unless you maybe have a bad/stuck dump valve.

Our coach drops more in the front than the rear, so that may be what you're seeing.  I would not recommend driving it any distance, even into a garage, if it's not at ride height or you risk severe damage to the drive train.

You could deflate the tires enough to clear the door, but don't forget to air them back up again.