Skilled workers for volunteers?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

falconhunter

Hello to all. We have followed this forum for a while now and find it to be very informative and very useful so we really value your opinions.. We are in the planning stages of making the "Great Escape"?we are just waiting for our house to sell and with the high end house sales down in our neck of the woods here in Texas this could take a while. We have been RVing for many years and recently purchased our new fifth wheel and we are looking forward to full timing. We will subscribe to workamp.com when we get closer to our departure date. We are only looking for a camp site and some utilities and not looking for ant additional income. Here are some of the questions we have.

Are the volunteer positions and work camp jobs just geared for camp hosts? I am a 33 year master carpenter and would love to use my skills out there. I also know just about every phase of construction and how to use just about any tool involved with construction from painting and sheetrock to electrical and plumbing. My question is will these skills benefit me in the world of work camping and is there a need for my type of knowledge? I always said the only thing I cant fix is a broken heart. I have many good years left in me and would rather my body parts wear out than rust out.

Thanks in advance for any input. Look forward to meeting some of you some day. Y?all seem like such a nice bunch!

Hello folks:

DW & I do a lot of volunteering.  Generally as campground hosts, but not always.  There are all kinds of opportunities out there for volunteers.  Someone like yourself should have no problem keeping booked.  I have found that even those not advertising for volunteers are generally open to same.