winterizing

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

bb21992

Total novice here but I thought I would go to the experts here.  I hear a lot about winterizing.  I live in California with no snow and plan to use my new used class c during the winter months around here.  Do I need to "winterize"?  Or is it just for those who don't use the RV in the winter and are storing it for a few months?  Thanks.  ???

Depends on which part(s) of California you'll be in. We live in the San Joaquin valley, approx 18 miles west of Stockton, and have never winterized an RV or a boat in the last 30 years.

On the rare occasions we have a heavy frost forecast, I might take the coach out of storage and plug into electricity at the house. Then I turn on the basement heater which is on a thermostat (an alternative might be a couple of portable incandescent lights), and either turn on the furnace or an electric heater set to keep the inside temperature above freezing. That happens only a few nights of the year. Since our coach is now in covered storage, I don't bother to do that.

"Winterizing" is for protection against freezing temperatures, regardless of whether you RV is in use or not. Techniques vary, though, if you live in a region where temperatures are not extreme or if the rig is in regular use.

It takes at least a few hours of below-freezing temps to create the potential for freeze damage, so if the temps dip below freezing for only a couple hours at night, you probably have no worries. But a night with temps under 32 for several hours demands some action to avoid damage. In many case, just leaving some heat on inside and warming up the hot water tank is sufficient. Maybe put a 75 watt light bulb by the water inlet and waste tank drains too, to prevent a freeze up there (assuming they are enclosed).

Tell us more about your climate and we can make some more suggestions.