Addding a 12volt accessory outlet from Coach to Tow Vehicle

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Stewart69

I recently purchased a Portabel Brake System that needs to be plug into a 12 volt outlet. My tow vehicle (2009 Jeep Wrangler) says I need to disconnect the negative battery cable when towing. I would like to somehow have an 12 volt accessory outlet wired from the coach to the tow vehicle. Does anyone have any instruction on how to do this... The coach (2009 Pace Arrow) and tow vehicle are already connected (7-pin to 6-pin trailer connectors) to operate the brakes lights. Is there some way to tap into the wires and just add an outlet. I'm no electrician by any means, but can't I just connect to the positive and negative wires?

The dealership can do this for me, but I really don't want to pay the service hour fees. I would think this would be simple enough. If any event... How would I just wire to the tow vehicle battery. My concern is battery drain. Just two wires from the positive and negative post to a 12 volt outlet. Do you need fuses or anything in between.

I appreciate any help. Thanks in advance.

Stewart69 said:
Do you need fuses or anything in between.
I can't answer your other questions but yes you should absolutely have fuses in there.  Especially if you decide to run wires directly from the coach's battery system.  Consider what could happen if a postive wire starts to get the insulation rubbed off due to whatever and then starts to hit bare metal.  Now you could have many amps running through it and a fire could start.

Your 6 or 7 pin connector should have a positive hot wire already inside. I don't have a drawing handy to tell you which pin it is thought. If nobody else does, I will look it up tonight.