Student Finding and Designing for RV oppertunities

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Nicholas

Hi all!

I'm an industrial design student at Carnegie Mellon University. I'm working on a project where I find and develop a solution for a product opportunity gap in RV's. Overall when I look at what's out there I find there is not much differentiation (I went to the RV show at the David Lawrence Convention Center) . To be fair though I've only been on an RV trip once in a class C and I did have a ton of fun. My family went to Yellowstone.

I am most interested in the use of an RV as a "home base" when visiting a park or area. That is to say, how does your interaction with the RV change when you are parked and doing activities away from the RV. I'm looking for stories and misadventures about the preparing to go out and the return home process. For example if you become muddy while your are out how do you get back inside without tracking that mud in?

However, don't feel limited to respond to this process; tell me about anything you wish your RV had or didn't have.
What kind of interior do you gravitate too? What to you separates the different RV brands?
If you could make a radical change to your RV what would it be?...that answer can be crazy i.e "I would like a glass koi pond floor" anything "I want a pop up crows nest" or "rotating bookcase".
What you think about new class A RV's? Are they pretentious? are they over-furnished?
Are RV's too homey in cases?

Really I'm looking for anything but I would appreciate a short personal anecdote or reasoning to accompany a wish.

Thank you,
Nicholas

Welcome Nicholas. Sounds like a fun project.