5th wheel/trailer brands to avoid?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

budtobias

I am new to the RV world and have a question that I haven't been able to find anywhere in the Forum:

Are there any 5th wheel / trailer brands that are to be avoided? I have read that brands such as Jayco, Forest River, NuWa, Newmar, Sunnybrook and Carriage have good overall reputations, but what about any brands that have overall mediocre or even bad reputations? Is there an independent organization (such as Consumers Union) that rates different companies' overall reliability and/or customer satisfaction ratings?

Thanks a lot in advance,
Buddy Tobias

None by name to avoid, but something to consider.  With the current recession (some would argue depression) many RV companies have gone out of business.  If you are comfortable with a unit that will not have factory warranty support, OK.  Just be an informed buyer.  There may well be some attractive deals for units left over built by these bankrupt builders.

johncmr

Trailers, from pop-ups to 36 foot 5th wheel palaces are just simple boxes set on 1 to 3 dead axles.  The boxes are filled with appliances like fridges, furnaces, water heaters, stoves, and A/C units all of which carry their own manufacturers' guarantees -- not the trailer maker's.    There are no drivetrains or complex suspensions to maintain.  Even the wiring, AC and DC,  is pretty simple

In evaluating a given trailer, beyond those appliances, what you see is pretty much what you get.  Shop for fit and finish and floor plan.  Cheap and light trailers will use cheap and light cabinetry and fittings.  Upscale and heavy trailers will use pricier and heavier.    Operate all appliances.