07 Towing Guide

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

eliallen

IN the 07  towing guide it list towing limits for the (New 07, 6L, 3.73 axle GMC) that is more than what is listed in the manual. ( That is, if I understand what I read). Does this mean that the GCWR has increased also. Be easy with me for I am still learning.

The guide isn't always right.

Also, it is not unusual for manufacturers to add 100 pounds to the GCWR each year after a new chassis is introduced.

I assume you are referring to the Trailer Life Tow Ratings tables. 

Going to the tables can be tricky.  Tow ratings can very by hundreds of pounds for a given engine and axle ratio depending on type of cab, bed/wheelbase length, 4WD or 2WD,  single vs dual rear wheels, and, in some years, auto vs manual tranny or 5th wheel tow vs conventional tow.  Furthermore, tow packages, options, and other peculiarities noted in footnotes can similarly affect ratings.    This applies to the TL tables and manufacturer tables and operator manuals.  Take real care that you are comparing apples to apples, oranges to oranges.

If after you have resolved all that and there is still a discrepancy, go with the number in the manufacturer's published tables and manuals.  Trailer Life admits in their tables that their numbers are often based on preliminary numbers from the manufacturers.

However, if the discrepancy is just a few hundred pounds, do not sweat it.  You should be leaving yourself a safety factor in your ratings anyway -- we like to use at least 10%.

Of course.  Don't exceed the published ratings by more than 10% or so.

I'll get me coat.

It's possible the owner manual wasn't yet updated for the "New" vs "Classic" ratings either. You didn't give enough info for us to try our own reading of the Tow Guide, so we can't give an opinion  as to the "right" numbers.