Generator Question

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

desertjim

We have a Sea Breeze 5th Wheel and it didn't come with a generator.  I want to get one that I can use, preferably a "portable" model and have a couple of questions.  The Generator wouldn't be used much.....just when I get caught on the road and need to spend the night at a truck stop, Wally World or a park with no electricity.

1.  Does the generator have to be an "inverter" type? 

2.  What is the "acceptable" noise level?  I see a lot of generators that might work with readings of 68dbs which aren't even considered
genuine RV generators.  I understand that nothing is as quiet as Hondas.

3.  Any experience with the Kipor?

As to "RV Generatiors", I'm totally a novice, although as a retired contractor, I have used a lot of generators.  I have a big house generator out in the garage, but I don't think folks would like to hear that one crank up in the middle of some nice, quiet night (smile).  It is a Honda, though.

Thanks for any help or advice.

Regards,

Jim

[quote author=desertjim link=topic=3982.msg34911#msg34911 date=1139340444]
We have a Sea Breeze 5th Wheel and it didn't come with a generator.  I want to get one that I can use, preferably a "portable" model and have a couple of questions.  The Generator wouldn't be used much.....just when I get caught on the road and need to spend the night at a truck stop, Wally World or a park with no electricity.

1.  Does the generator have to be an "inverter" type?

Since I am a fulltimer in a motorhome, I will let those who have a 5er answer your questions about a suitable generator for your trailer. BUT you really threw me on that "inverter" type generator? What is that? 

Regards,
Jack

Jack,