2005 Dodge Ram 1500 4x4 5.7 Hemi - What's your towing experience?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

gudde1251

I am a relatively newbie.  We had a large pop-up and I handled pulling it great.  We have since bought a 2005 Jayco 27BH. It max's out at 7500. My truck has a tow rating of 13000.  On paper, as long as I stay under 13000, it will work.  I have an eaz-lite WD hitch.  Also, truck has the 3.55 rear axle.  Is the drive train tough enough?
What is your experience of pulling TT around that weight?

Thanks,

John

My friend had an 04' same truck and he towed around 7500 but he found his tranny temp would creep up on him so he installed an extra tranny cooler and put on a finned rear diff cover that held an extra quart of oil and used Royal Purple in the diff. With his equalizer hitch it still gave him some sway but he could run 60-65 all day long. Until any kind of a hill of course.

I could not find the 2005 stats in Trailer Life for some reason but for 2006, the highest tow rating for a 1500 4WD with the Hemi and 3.55's is 7,500 lbs (Quad Cab, Standard Bed). I'm guessing that the 13,000 lb figure is your Gross Combined Weight Ratio (GCWR) - max weight of the truck and trailer together. So, it would be tough to pull that TT if it was fully loaded but if it's slightly lighter you would probably be ok.

Yes, the truck does have the tow package and its a short bed.

I knew it will be close on weight if both are loaded to the max.  Yes, the GCWR is the 13,000.  I plan on doing whatever it takes to stay under that.

Subtract the GVWR from GCWR and you're pretty close to the max wieght you can tow.  There are a few other variables, but that should give you a starting point.