1989 Georgie Boy Encounter class A pass Tx emissions inspection?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tmac44

I am a Texas resident, Travis County and I purchased the 35ft Georgie Boy Encounter in Michigan so I need to register the GB in Tx and to do that  it needs to pass AM2 testing and possibly TSI for vehicles over 8500lbs.  I just put in a new 454 v8 engine and wouldn't have any problems passing but just found out that I need to add a catalytic converter.  I have heard that a converter uses more gas.
Should I become a resident of another county or state and bypass the omissions testing and just get the saftey inspection?
Anyone with a little advice?

Correctly, or incorrectly, we were told to be sure to have our vehicles inspected in a non-emissions restricted city (county). As Escapees, domiciled in Livingston, Polk County, Texas, that was not impossible, but I found it curious that you had the option (or at least people thought you did).

So we had them inspected in Livingston, and registered without issue or emissions tests.

I think you can see this isn't the greatest advice, but seems to be the prevailing practice. Correct me where I am wrong.  :eek:

Rather than get possibly differing opinions, go to this web site and get all the details on the safety inspection requirements in Texas.

But here's the short version of the emission testing requirements:

Which vehicles are required to have the emissions test?

Vehicles registered in designated counties. Designated counties include: Brazoria, Fort Bend, Galveston, Harris, Montgomery, Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Johnson, Kaufman, Parker, Rockwall, Tarrant, Travis, Williamson and El Paso counties.
    Gasoline powered vehicles. Diesel powered vehicles and motorcycles are exempt from emissions testing, but are still required to have the annual safety inspection.