Tire pressure

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

alrod013

Just took delivery of a 2004 Itasca Horizon 40AD.  On our way back to old house to pick up rest of stuff. Kind of confused and concerned about proper tire pressures for this trip. RV is not fully loaded yet, and has not been weighed. Weight will change once we get it all loaded up. We are running on BF Goodrich 275/80/22.5 tires with a max psi rating on the sidewall of 110 at max load. What tire pressure should I use for this trip? Right now, each one has about 100 psi. We are towing a 2004 GMC Canyon. Have asked around at the RV parks we have stayed at so far, and of course have gotten many different answers. Being a newbie, I am rather paranoid about losing a tire!!!

I'm having trouble finding an inflation table for Goodrich tires, but since you haven't loaded the RV yet, you're certainly well under the gross axle weight ratings so the 100psi should be fine until you can weigh it and get the correct pressures from an inflation table.

Whether you're towing or not won't change the required inflation pressures.

If you max load the axles then you should air up the fronts to 100 psi and the rears to 90 psi per the Goodyear chart for 275/80/22.5 tires. 

On my coach we are running 285/75/22.5 and with our axel weights we use 95 front and 85 rear.

I wouldn't use the Goodyear inflation tables for Goodrich tires.

There should be a wall sticker to the left of the driver's seat and your tires, GVWR and tire pressures (what the pressures should be if the coach weight was as high as the GVWR) should be listed there. Those pressures would be what you should use until you get the coach weighed in travel mode, then you could reduce the pressures to what the charts call for.