1977 Dodge Tradesman 200 camper-- good find?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

drec

Hi all,

I'm brand new to RVing; we can't afford a Westfalia and I'm not prepared to deal with all of the hassles that come with those beautiful vans.  We found a 1977 Dodge Tradesman 200 camper locally that the owner has said is in tiptop mechanical condition; some of the cosmetics in the interior need to be redone, and while the propane stove is working, something is wrong with the propane heater and it is not.  It is going for $1800.  The owner is willing to throw in a separate bbq tank with a portable flameless blower.

I can't find much on the Net about these vans, save for one site in which most posters say their vans have been reliable.  Are these good camping vans?  How easy is it to find the parts?  I assume it's a 318 V8 in there and I see 318s all the time in my local ads; can these 318s fit in the Tradesman if I were to buy it and the engine went after a year or two?

Anything else I need to know about these vans!  Thanks, from an RV newbie.

The 318 was a very tough engine but was discontinued quite a few years ago. A used one will be likely worn out, that is probably why the guy is trying to sell it.
There were a few problem areas with the old Chrysler products. The major one is rust. Electrical was also an issue, the ballast resistor and electronic ignition tended to fail at the most inconvenient times. The auto choke was also a pita.
That unit is over 30 years old, be patient and prepared for wrench time. If you are not mechanically inclined and willing to accept a challenge, pass on it.