POSSIBLE ONLINE SCAM ATTEMPT

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

valleygeocacher

Here's a series of messages that transpired from a laptop ad that I posted. The messages show the classic scam of buying something with a possibly fake check, demanding a refund of overpayment while the check/money order is being processed.

The transaction is pending, but I'll be there with camera and a Postal Inspector when her "shipper" arrives.

While the communication was in progress, Norton Anti-Virus reported a blocked Worm/Trojan.

HELLO BUCK ,
I WILL LIKE YOU TO KNOW THAT THE RECEIPT OF PAYMENT WILL BE DELIVERED TO YOUR MAIL THIS WEEK (MONEY ORDER) SO ONCE YOU GET IT GET BACK TO ME SO I CAN EMAIL YOU THE SHIPPER DETAILS TO SEND THE BALANCE .

REGARDS

BuckSBC <[email protected]> wrote:
That's all okay, but I've never done this sort of transaction before, so please give me full instructions.

Thanks

Buck
----- Original Message -----
To: BuckSBC
Sent: Sunday, February 26, 2006 11:51 AM
Subject: Re: laptop

HELLO ,
I WILL LIKE YOU TO KNOW THAT THE MONEY ORDER WILL I MAIL WILL BE OVERDRAFT WHICH WILL COVER THE PAYMENT AND SHIPPING SO ONCE YOU GET THE PAYMENT YOU SEND THE EXCESS AMOUNT TO MY SHIPPER , MY DAUGHTER JUST GOT A NEW APARTMENT IN LONDON AND AM GETTING LOTS OF ITEMS FOR HER THAT SHE NEEDS AND THE SHIPPER ARE PICKING UP SOME OTHER ITEMS ALSO SO ONCE YOU GET THE MONEY ORDER YOU SEND THEM THE EXCESS BALANCE .

N.B I WILL GIVE YOU ADDITIONAL $50 FOR THE RESERVE AND ANY INCONVINENCE THIS MIGHT CAUSE YOU .I NEED A FINAL CONFIRMATION SO PAYMENT CAN BE ON ITS WAY TO YOU ASAP.

USPS m.o. is fine.
The Money order should be in the total amount of $350 plus shipping. Don't send more or less than that amount.

Tell me where it is to be shipped, so I can tell you the total price including shipping charge.

Our address is:
E. B. Buchanan
215 S. Valley View Rd. Lot #60