Internet for Full-time working over the Net?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

LindaCW

Hi - Newbie here. We've just purchased a new fifth wheel and are gearing up to start our life as full-timers in January. I work in the Web design industry and can work remotely from anywhere - as long as there is good internet service. Because it is my bread-and-butter, cost is not a factor as much as reliability and speed is.

Because I work online all day, I will be downloading/sending numerous emails, joining Webex meetings, using Skype, and downloading/uploading files (some as high as 20 GB) frequently (i.e. - several uploads/downloads daily).

With these considerations, what would be the best system to consider?
Thanks in advance!
Linda

I would think the only service you could possibly consider is satellite. All the air cards and phone tethers have a 5 gig limit, and Wifi is totally out of the question. Ned will be along soon and give you all the gory details.

We need internet access wherever we are. We have HughesNet, automatic rooftop mount. Works anywhere there aren't any pesky trees. I think we pay $69.99 but I'm not sure how much we get for that. As Seilerbird said, Ned should be along to give you all the details. But I'm willing to bet that it's your only option.

Wendy

As Wendy and Tom suggested, the satellite is the best primary choice. Many of those using it also have VZ and another cellular data plan in case of trees or other down situations where cellular, though slower 'cept near a city with 3/4 G, will allow you immediate short term access. 

LindaCW said:
downloading/uploading files (some as high as 20 GB) frequently (i.e. - several uploads/downloads daily).

You won't find any mobile internet service that will support 20GB file transfers.  Did you mean 20MB?

Wendy said: