Rand-McNally has GPS designed for Rvs

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Gary RV_Wizard

Site Team
Mapmaker Rand-McNally has announced a new GPS Nav system designed for the RV market. I have no first hand experience with it, so this is just a news report.

The Tripmaker RVND 5510 features points of interest specifically for Rvs, including dump stations, propane stations, and RV services such as campgrounds and dealers. Read more about it here:

http://www.rvbusiness.com/2011/05/rand-mcnally-launches-first-gps-for-rvers/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+RvBusiness+%28RV+Business%29

This looks interesting. I've been considering the Garmin dezl 560, which has an RV mode, but this appears to be less expensive and seems to offer additional features (will be out in June, the site says), but if it comes with a windshield mount (suction cup??), it's useless to me, and if it requires the stylus shown in the picture, then use will be awkward while on the road.
Listed figures are intriguing, though.

Thanks, Gary.

I didn't see much unique about it except for RV-oriented POIs, and those can be added to most major brands of GPS. I've added POIs for all that stuff to my Garmin and TomTom units.

Well, it IS cheaper than the dezl 560, and you can have an altitude readout, apparently not available in the newer Garmins (near as I can tell). Of course the dezl 560LMT comes with lifetime traffic and map updates (don't know if the traffic is worth it, especially since it is ad-supported). And, of course, I know what's good in the typical Garmin. After the 5510 actually is released then I'll be interested to compare the two. I'm still not sure I need anything beyond the Streetpilot 2730 I'm running now, but...