Class C installing manual jacks and also jacking up to change tires

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

chrishibbard7

Noob here, buying my first MH after renting RVs multiple times.

The MH I'm buying is a 22" and rated at 12k lbs dry to 17k lbs gross.  I'm thinking I rather install 4 manual scissors jacks than carry enough 2x12 blocks to level it.  Suggestions?  I've heard of folks using a (powerful) cordless drill w/ modified bit to raise & lower manual scissors jacks. 

Also, I've never changed a tire on a vehicle this heavy, how do I go about doing it?  Do i need 2 bottle jacks rated @ ~1/2 the gross weight?  Can i just jack up corner to change a tire?  If I install 4 manual scissors jacks for leveling, can they do double-duty for changing tires?

thank in advance for your advice.

Those scissors jacks are intended as stabilizers, not as leveling jacks.  They won't support the weight and you can twist the frame if you aren't careful.  Either use the blocks for leveling or get true leveling jacks.

The easiest way to change a large tire is to have a road service like Coach-Net and call them.  Don't jack a corner or you'll twist the frame.

Really?  No one out there changing their own tires?  I can understand that for Class As (just driving beside the tires of a big Class A on the hwy makes me nervous) but for lil' 'ol Class Cs?