How to know someone does not want to be photographed.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Tony_Alberta said:
My understanding is that for someone to publish your photo they must have a signed release form.

That is not generally true, Tony. It mostly depends upon the "intended use" of the photo -- and also, the country in which the photo was taken. To publish is different than to use commercially. However, if you are in a public place in the US, you have no right to privacy as to who can take a photo of you. A general rule that a photographer should follow is that if asked "not" to take the photo, the photographer should oblige that request and if the photo has already been taken, should delete the photo. However, they "can" legally take the photo and do not have to delete it.

As a photographer, I can use any photo to advertise my work that I have taken of people in public or with permission in private without a release. I cannot sell a print commercially without a release from the person or model. However, it is my understanding that if a candid photo is taken in a public place, I can sell the photo without a release. I have never done that though and if I did, would consult with an attorney first to make sure.

In Vietnam I was with the 9th Marines and was involved in the evacuation of Saigon. Their are many photos on me on the internet during that time That I really hate to see, I was never asked if they could be used, nor do I want them on their. That was a real ugly time and their was things that had to be done.
In the end Always ask if you are planning on taking a picture. EVEN IF SOMEONE IS IN THE BACKGROUND.
And does someone have to have your permission? NO, I have tried to have some of the pictures took off and have been told they are file photos and are free to use.