Electrical 101 - How do you run a new circuit?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Kim (skyking4ar2) Bertram

Moderator Emeritus
I am not an electrician by any definition, and regret I am not better trained. However, I can follow directions, and can take a red wire to terminal A and and a black wire to terminal B. I get the idea of circuit breakers and loads and that's where my questions start.

Over the past year, we have learned about which circuits do what in the coach, can read the wiring diagram (kinda), and know what blows the breaker on the Xantrex inverter when it's dark, cold, and rainy out.  :'(

We have x number of breakers, and some of those circuits are not in use at the same time. That makes me think I can have total breaker capacity that exceeds the power available, but since they are not all on, it's not a problem.

I want to add another circuit so that when we plug in our electric heater, and the toaster or TV or something else is on, we don't pop the breaker for the general use circuit.

My thought is that the main panel has x amount of room for x number of breakers. If I have enough room there, I can add a breaker, run a circuit to a unique receptacle, and life will be good. I do not think the inverter comes into play, unless I don't understand it, because I don't think I can run the big stuff (A/C, washer, microwave) off the inverter anyway.

Am I on the right path here or is there something else I should be thinking about?