photo editing, what to use

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mike eddleman

Just wondering what people are using to edit their photos . I have
cs3
Lightroom 3
portrait professional
Windows Live photo Gallery
and in the process of downloading cs5

I've dabbled with all of them just a little but not enough to know what's best, I do lean to cs3 just because I have used it longer. I still have a lot to learn about all of them.

PS CS4 mostly, cataloging program is Expression Media 2, now Media Pro. I think PS Elements, iPhoto or Lightroom might be as good or better for many, I haven't had occasion to try them. There's extensive commentary about this subject on photo.net.

I'm an old school photographer and try to take photos that won't need editing.  We rarely edit our photos, other than the occasional cropping.

I used Paint Shop Pro for about 10 years but it was purchased by Corel and they promptly ruined the program. I used Photoshop for 6 or 7 years but it is a behemoth, having zillions of options, 99% of which do not apply to digital photography. It is a great program but it can take a long time to learn. For the last 4 years I have been using Lightroom (since beta) and that is the one I use and love the most. It is a photo editor designed by photographers and the program is specifically for digital photographers. Lightroom especially shines if you take and process a lot of photos. I got started with Lightroom by watching free online video by Michael Tapes. They are a little dated but still the best way to get up to speed with the program.

http://www.whibalhost.com/_Tutorials/Photoshop_LR/01/index.html

Picasa also has photo editing capabilities but it is a bit limited. If you go RAW CS3 won't work with your RAW files, but CS5 will.

But if you really want to get retro the first paint program I used was Deluxe Paint on my IBM PS2 in 1987.