refrigerator not working

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

wolfchad

hello all i am new to the rv world and have no idea how to use half the stuff in my rv i just recently bought a 1986 winnebago chieftain 27 and i can not figure out hoe to get the fridge working i turned it on the ac option and the check light came on so i switched it to gas and the check light came on so i tried auto option the check light came on now it will not even let me try the ac option only gas but check light still comes on is there some thing i have to turn on or do for this to work or am i going to need a new fridge.

Welcome aboard and congratulations on your Chieftain!  I'm going to nominate your post for one of the longest sentences I have ever read on this forum  :D.

Here's the manuals on most RV fridges - I would look yours up and follow the troubleshooting directions.  Most problems like yours I have heard about usually are related to low 12 volt voltage.

The make and model of the fridge would help a lot!!

The check light simply indicates a failure of the propane to light.

Had you plugged it in to 120V ? If not, then the problem is that if no 120V is detected, the fridge  will default to propane and it is not lighting for one reason or another.

Are your coach batteries fully charged??  12 Volts for the control circuits is required  to run on either propane or 120 Volts.