Future of Monaco

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ken & Sheila

Site Team
Report from the Information Meeting with William Osborne; VP Navistar in charge of Monaco and Workhorse.
This meeting lasted over an hour and a half.

First I forgot to ask about a gas engine for the Workhorse chassis.

Osborne?s background is in the Automotive Industry. Chrysler, GM, the 20 years at Ford, head of Truck Operations. He is an engineer by trade with engineering and production experience from the auto industry.

QUALITY:
Frankly I think he was surprised at the level (low) of quality in the RV industry.

His plans for Monaco are to work towards the quality that has been achieved in the auto industry.

He commented that RV?s are currently constructed to a set of plans rather than manufactured to a set of specifications. He plans to work with suppliers like they do in the auto industry. Parts ordered will be ordered to meet a series of specifications. He said he can?t blame suppliers for poorly working items when they were never giving real engineering specs to meet.  These will include both function and reliability.

Currently Monaco has an engineering staff and a New Products development team and engineering does not sign off on new designs. In the future these departments will work together reporting to a new position ? VP Engineering who will sign off on all new designs: function, ease of manufacture (improves quality), ease of service, reliability.