EPDM Coatings
rvupgradestore.com Composet Products PO Box Zone
Over The Network Custom Yacht Interiors

Author Topic: Caterpillar Engine Performance Improvements  (Read 21346 times)

Jeff

• Forum Staff
  • ---
Re: Caterpillar Engine Performance Improvements
« Reply #30 on: October 10, 2011, 09:31:53 PM »
Ya know, I was concerned that the fuel mileage was at 6.9 on this rig when we bought it, but didn't realize that it should be better (i'm new to diesel).  I will be getting the Freightliner chassis serviced in a few weeks.  I will see if the guys doing the service can find any reason it might be lower than I am hearing on the Forum.  With diesel fuel cost as high as it is, it sure makes the trips bite the budget.

One problem we had involved our side radiator fan. They are hydraulic with an electronic controller that had failed on ours because it had not been relocated properly when our motorhome was built. When the controller fails it runs the fan on high continuously to protect the engine. It uses around 40 hp and cost us about 1 mpg.

If you have a side facing radiator it is easy to check. When the engine is cold start up and see if the fan is running at 1500 RPM or so. If it is the controller has a problem.

Mavarick

• ---
« Reply #31 on: October 11, 2011, 01:03:05 PM »
I will see if the guys doing the service can find any reason it might be lower than I am hearing on the Forum.

Chris, I donít know how handy the Freightliner guys might be on the mpg problem. I would suggest starting with you local Cat dealer. Run you serial and arrangement number by them to see if there are any service or warranty records on your HEUI system like injector change, etc. If it was done at a dealer they will know.