Generator problem

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

inga

My wife and I recently purchased a 93 Dutchman Class C motorhome.  It has an Onan 4000 Genset that has started and run well for the last 6 times we have started it.  I recently tried to start it and nothing happened.  After troubleshooting I found that I do not have 12v to the control board, the 5a fuse is good and I have 12v to the starter relay.  Where does the control board get it's 12v power from?  Thank you for any help!

I'm no expert but I would assume the 12vdc would come from the chassis or house batteries. 

If it is an Onan Emerald, and if memory serves me correctly, The board receives 12 volts from a wire from the starter solenoid on the battery post (large one). The solenoid has an internal jumper from the battery pole to the secondary pole ("s") to engage the solenoid. Unlike Ford starter solenoids, the secondary wire (the one on the "s" terminal) should be hot continuously and goes to the board. The board then grounds that wire to complete the circuit for the starter solenoid.

There is a good troubleshooting guide here that will specify the pin numbers on the wiring harness and board if you have the model # of your generator.

The solenoid will receive +12v from the battery at the large post on the right side of the solenoid. This is the post generally closest to you as you face the genset. The control board receives it's +12v voltage from the small post nearest to this large post. When the start button is depressed, +12v voltage is supplied to the small post on the left side of the solenoid and charges the solenoid, closing the contacts and supplying +12v to the starter through the large post on the left side of the solenoid.