I'm looking to buy a 1989 Catalina Coachmen. $5,000. Good price?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

pswayze

Hello everyone!
I'm looking to purchase a 1989 Catalina Coachmen from my uncle for 5k. I would appreciate some help because I'm new to RVs and don't want to get stuck with a raw deal.

1989 Catalina Coachmen
Ford F-350 chassis  22'
20,000 miles
Appears to be in excellent condition
New tires

To me it sounds like a lot of money for a 1989 but it really is in great condition and spotless inside. Thoughts?

Lots of pictures at the link below. I'm having trouble embedding the images. Sorry!
http://imgur.com/ErHaT&aoO0J&KUndh&W3tUv&WY7GB&U58o9&ZpBkk&ELjhq&FFmsJ&GtELa&KLoMD&oM8zcl&2uvOr&fltjL

Edit: A quick search shows that embedding of images is disabled.

Attachments

• imagejpeg_2_14.jpg
    imagejpeg_2_14.jpg
    125 KB · Views: 40
That would be a horrible deal. The NADA high retail is $2080 and the low retail is $1,730.

http://www.nadaguides.com/RVs/1989/Coachmen/M-220-CB-FORD-22/Standard-Equipment

It's hard to put a value on a rig that old.  It depends so much on condition and how the engine and transmission are.  You may want to have a mechanic do some testing and let you know who well the motor has lasted.  Having low Miles is nice but it can also cause some problems of it's own.  How long has it been sitting?  Keep in mind that you will certainly have to replace all tires and that isn't cheap.  You may have some negotiating points like the tires, the inspectin and the NADA values.

The NADA book value doesn't mean much at that age - it merely reflects typical depreciation. Condition is everything in an older rig, and in many areas they don't go much below $5000 in any condition. In other areas, $3000-$3500 is the "floor".