Wish to Convert "Something" to an RV

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Flyboy

I have always had as a bucket list item to convert some kind of vehicle to RV use. Perhaps one of those airport mini buses, a small school bus, or anything of that nature. I built my own house from scratch so I have that carpentry, electrical, and plumbing experience and knowledge. I also have experience at a major refurbed of an older Open Road motor home. Other than routine maintenance skills, I am not an auto mechanic.

I already have a motor home so this project would be for some family member who would have an interest in RVing. More or less a labor of love and to test my own capabilities.

What I am wondering is should I just buy a cheap used RV - something on the order of a Class C - and restore it instead of tackling a complete transformation of something that was not an RV to start with. Obviously, significant costs between the two options would be a factor.

I have no idea what the difference in cost between restoration of an existing RV and starting from scratch would be. So I guess that is the purpose of this post. I would appreciate any and all advise on which way I should go.

Thanks in advance.