Head lights weak

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Lee77

I find the sealed-beams on my 2004 Brave very weak. I'm new to RVing maybe it's just me, but are there brighter sealed- beams available ?
Thanks, Lee

There are several grades of sealed beam headlights available, but before you invest in a set, check the headlight wiring.  With a fiberglass front, the headlights need both voltage and a ground wire, doubling the chances for voltage loss due to a bad connection over a car that uses the car body and frame for the ground return.

Check the voltage at the bulb itself - a 10% voltage loss equals a 20% loss in brightness.

A brighter bulb draws more current, so if the wiring is restrictive you won't gain much going to a bigger bulb - the extra current will just reduce the voltage that much further.

Sylvania headlight comparison chart

I would also check the battery and alternator voltages. Either one might cause dull headlights.

I have owned 3 motorhomes and driven more, never had one that had really good night driving capabilities. Therefore I usually only drive during the day, but I like it that way and am not in a hurry anyway.

As stated above, do check the voltage and aim of the lights.

Do they make a conversion kit to Halogen?  I know they do for other sealed beam vehicles,
but I have not seen one for an RV with 4 head lamps. . .

http://www.rvheadlights.com/

Did some 'googling' and found this for starts.  I know Hella lights as they make good offroad lamps.
I am going to check into a conversion kit for my 2002 Winnebago Adventurer.  We just drove OKC to
near Kansas City KS and the last part of the drive was after dark.  Winter Solstice is a few days away.

For much of the drive, I left my brights on.  I had very few people on I-35 flash at me to dim.  The brights