After Market AC

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kerrazy

Hello all -

I am new to the camper thing and to this site.  I just purchased an 88 Coleman Larime pop-up.  Question is...can an aftermarket roof top AC unit be installed and will if so will it cause the roof to sag or leak?  Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Tim

Tim,

Welcome to the RV Forum.  I have no personal experience with a popup camper but have seen several with a Coleman or such RV rooftop AC installed.  Possibly the manufacturer can provide some guidance on installation.  Hopefully others here with more experience will be able to provide more info.

I too have seen them with AC on top.. There are a few things to consider

One it is hard to cool a tent type camper

Two, AC units are somewhat heavy and will add to the weight you have to crank up

Three,,,, See the previous post where he refers you to the dealer for support

NOTE: There is no reason to choose a Coleman AC just because you have a COLEMAN camper, Coleman does not make either one of them far as I know, they just license the name.. Or so it seems these days when I contact them for support and they give me a list of licenessees (I don't have a camper or AC under their label though, just a hot water heater, several lanterns, cooking devices and a electrnoics tool)