Question about my water heater

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jslocum

This is probably going to sound like a dumb question, but after reading through my manuals, it isn't clear how my water heater works.  I'm new to RV'ing and this is the first time I am testing out my water heater.

I have an Atwood water heater in my new Pace Arrow.  It has an electronic ignition.  Near the sink there are two switches and a light.  One switch is for electric operation and the other for gas operation.  I turned on the gas switch, and it lit without a problem.  It also heated the water.  I assumed that what would happen is the water would get up to temperature, the light would go on to let me know, then the gas would turn off and on over time to keep the water warm.  I also assumed that I could use the electric switch to keep the water warm over time.  What happened was that the water got very very hot, but the burner never turned off.  I finally turned the burner off myself.

So, my questions...

1. Is the burner supposed to go on and off by itself, or am I supposed to turn it on/off?
2. What is the light for and when does it come on?  Mine never came on.
3. Is there usually a thermostat to control water temperature?  I couldn't find one.
4. Am I correct in assuming the electric will keep the water warm?  Will it also heat the water on its own?

Thanks in advance for any replies.

jslocum said:
So, my questions...

1. Is the burner supposed to go on and off by itself, or am I supposed to turn it on/off?
2. What is the light for and when does it come on?  Mine never came on.
3. Is there usually a thermostat to control water temperature?  I couldn't find one.
4. Am I correct in assuming the electric will keep the water warm?  Will it also heat the water on its own?

J

There are no dumb questions on this Forum other than those unasked.