rvupgradestore.com Composet Products Fridge Defend
RV Life Magazine RV Park Reviews RV Trip Wizard

Author Topic: Garage Door Opener Problem  (Read 150 times)

holdem

• ---
Garage Door Opener Problem
« on: November 12, 2018, 06:36:00 PM »
So I have a Liftmaster garage door opener that I'm having trouble with. It was running but the door wasn't moving. I opened the cover and discovered that the gear was broken. I replaced the gear. Now the door goes down and gets to about an inch or two of the ground and then goes right back up. I have turned the adjustment screw to make the door go down further but that didn't help. Any ideas? Thank you.

Neal

• ---
Re: Garage Door Opener Problem
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2018, 07:21:47 PM »
I think you might try increasing the down pressure adjustment or look for something breaking the line of sight between the safety lights.
Neal,        2008 Winnebago Journey 39Z, Freightliner XC-S chassis,
Cummins ISB 6.7L 350 HP, Allison 3000,  2014 Honda CRV Toad.

DonTom

• ---
« Reply #2 on: November 12, 2018, 07:57:45 PM »
So I have a Liftmaster garage door opener that I'm having trouble with. It was running but the door wasn't moving. I opened the cover and discovered that the gear was broken. I replaced the gear. Now the door goes down and gets to about an inch or two of the ground and then goes right back up. I have turned the adjustment screw to make the door go down further but that didn't help. Any ideas? Thank you.
You mean the two white nylon /plastic  gears inside? Did you replace both? If one of them is damaged at a certain area, that's what happens, door  will reverse as soon as it gets to the damaged area on the gear.

It happened to one of my door openers, also a LiftMaster.   Replacing the two plastic gears fixed it. So I am wondering if your "broken" gear damaged the other and stripped it a little.

BTW, I know there many are different models of Liftmaster, but that was the problem with mine.