rvupgradestore.com Composet Products Fridge Defend
RV Life Magazine RV Park Reviews RV Trip Wizard

Author Topic: Homeline breaker box - breakers  (Read 730 times)

Alaskansnowbirds

  • Forum Staff
  • ---
  • *
  • Posts: 2776
Re: Homeline breaker box - breakers
« Reply #30 on: March 14, 2019, 12:18:57 PM »
One thing I haven't seen mentioned is a ground rod for this panel. The electricians out there can tell you if you need one.
Don & Peg
Alaska/Arizona
Currently located here.
Weather at Camp Verde, AZ.

SeilerBird

  • ---
  • Posts: 13426
  • Good things are illegal immoral or over 1000 watts
Re: Homeline breaker box - breakers
« Reply #31 on: March 14, 2019, 01:04:42 PM »
Quote
The reason being is that the hundred amp main breaker will not trip until 200amps so he said your panel  is rated for 100 amps so each line is 50amp in your case so one hot to each 50amp lug on the breaker.
When I was an electrician we always use to laugh at the utility workers who thought they were electricians and here is one of the reasons why. It does not take 200 amps to trip a 100 amp breaker. 100 amps on either leg will trip the main breaker.
I would like to apologize to anyone I have not yet offended. Please be patient and I will get to you shortly.
Favorite 2018 shots:
https://photos.app.goo.gl/s2JcpKVxX3Ez3c8j9
My portfolio:
https://goo.gl/photos/Cx4SaYhGfYFShSty7
My Grand Canyon shots:
https://photos.app.goo.gl/Nc1AT8tQp25wJwfm1

regval

  • ---
  • Posts: 304
Re: Homeline breaker box - breakers
« Reply #32 on: March 14, 2019, 03:12:04 PM »
SielerBird is right on.
Power companies don't need to follow NEC code as they are covered by a different regulatory agency so employees may not know as much as they think they do.  Your panel is rated for 100A.  Just look at electrical panels that are rated for 100A or 200A and come with the main breaker installed in the panel.  A 100A panel will come with a 100A breaker installed.  My home has a 200A panel, main breaker is 200A.
As mentioned earlier, the size of the feed wires from the meter pan and the panel rating are the limiting factors for that load center panel. For 100A, the feeder wires from the meter pan need to be #4 or larger copper or #2 or larger if the feed wires are aluminum.
My suggestion is when time to upgrade your panel and you want more circuits, choose one with more breaker capacity, like a 100A 20 circuit. You can use your existing breakers and have extra capacity to add more circuits.
Anyway, good job. Stay safe.

Reggie
2005 Forest River TT 27BHSS and 2009 Heartland Sundance 2998RB 5vr
2007 Chev Silverado 2500HD WT crew cab, LB, 6.6L, Allison 6sp, B&W Companion Hitch
USAF veteran. Retired Biomedical Engineer


"Some come to the fountain of knowledge to drink, others just gargle."

regval

  • ---
  • Posts: 304
Re: Homeline breaker box - breakers
« Reply #33 on: March 14, 2019, 03:16:35 PM »
One thing I haven't seen mentioned is a ground rod for this panel. The electricians out there can tell you if you need one.

The photos supplied by OP appear to show a bare copper wire exiting the bottom of the panel on the left side and I assume that it goes to ground rod(s).  Definitely needed for a main panel install.
 
2005 Forest River TT 27BHSS and 2009 Heartland Sundance 2998RB 5vr
2007 Chev Silverado 2500HD WT crew cab, LB, 6.6L, Allison 6sp, B&W Companion Hitch
USAF veteran. Retired Biomedical Engineer


"Some come to the fountain of knowledge to drink, others just gargle."

SeilerBird

  • ---
  • Posts: 13426
  • Good things are illegal immoral or over 1000 watts
Re: Homeline breaker box - breakers
« Reply #34 on: March 14, 2019, 03:18:32 PM »
Regval is correct. No need for a ground rod at a sub panel, only the main panel.
I would like to apologize to anyone I have not yet offended. Please be patient and I will get to you shortly.
Favorite 2018 shots:
https://photos.app.goo.gl/s2JcpKVxX3Ez3c8j9
My portfolio:
https://goo.gl/photos/Cx4SaYhGfYFShSty7
My Grand Canyon shots:
https://photos.app.goo.gl/Nc1AT8tQp25wJwfm1

djw2112

  • ---
  • Posts: 396
Re: Homeline breaker box - breakers
« Reply #35 on: March 14, 2019, 03:43:25 PM »
Thanks all...  the ground rod is in the back of the support post and goes into the earth, the white wire on the right side of the panel goes down to the clamp on the ground rod. 

Appreciate the info, so ill leave it as is... :)  perfect!     
2007 GC 5th wheel - used