EPDM Coatings
rvupgradestore.com Composet Products PO Box Zone
Over The Network Custom Yacht Interiors

Author Topic: Looking for an American Made Car that can be towed 4 down?  (Read 18108 times)

dave in NC

• ---
Re: Looking for an American Made Car that can be towed 4 down?
« Reply #30 on: July 23, 2013, 04:01:36 PM »
I've been towing my 2012 MKZ hybrid wheels down for two years, and have no issues now that I understand where to have the key position, and the sequence for setting it up to tow.

To tow, you put the car in park, then ignition completely on, shift to neutral, and back the key up all the way till it stops.  This will be in the accessory position, and where you want to be for towing. 

Intuitively, you want to bacck the key all the way off, then move it up a notch.  In that position, all systems are on, and it drains the battery power within a couple hours.  IT took me a year to figure out why my battery wore down so quickly.  So, backing the key all the way off, you can't remove the key while in neutral, so you're actually in the accessory position, so the wheels aren't locked.  I've towed for days in this position, and have no trouble with the little lightweight battery that you need to start systems.  manufacturer says you can to up to 70mph this way, wheels down.
2002 Allegro Bus 40TP
NC Realtor
Retired US Army
Vietnam Vet

John From Detroit

• ---
  • ^My New Home^
    • Diabetics Forum
« Reply #31 on: July 23, 2013, 05:04:44 PM »
American made cars are getting harder to find and often have foriegn names like Nissan or Honda.

JEEP, WIth MANUAL transfer cases.. Nearly all of them can be towed 4 down

Some other cars (I think a 2002 Neon for example) can be.

If not sure here is what to do.

Go to www.remcotowing.com/store  (you can leave off the /store if you like)

This will bring up an interactive web page