Camp Freightliner?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tomnnva

I heard about "Camp Freightliner" from the Freightliner people at the Tampa show, held in Gaffney, SC.  Its a 2 day course about 8-9 hours per day.  I was wondering if anyone had attended this course and would it be worth while to attend?  I am not an engineer and have no intention of ever working on the engine or even changing the oil, so if this the kind of course that would benefit a guy like me??

I would say "yes" if you are within a reasonable drive.  I drove from Michigan (2 days each way) and it was worth the drive.

Like you, I'll do basic "house" maint but won't ever be a diesel mechanic.  However, what the class really teaches you is the info you need to be an owner and talk intelligently to the mechanics who are working on your RV.  You learn the basics of what the various systems are and what they do, how they can break and what to look for when they do.  And many tips-and-tricks that are not covered in your normal owners manuals.

There is a ton of info covered in the class but the take-aways are even more valuable as future reference.  When I attended you received a thick binder with all the presentations as well as a CD with materials specific to your chassis/engine/transmission.

Finally, the instructor, Mike, is terrific and you get an opportunity to meet with other owners.

Highly recommended.

You will learn a lot about your chassis and engine that is useful to know, even if you don't do the work yourself. You still need to talk with mechanics about maintenance and repairs - unless you are willing to be completely at their mercy!