1997 Fleetwood Flair 27R-No House or Gen Power-help please

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

crawlins5

Today I purchased my first motorhome...1997 Fleetwood Flair 27R; Ford 460 chassis.  Everything is good with it except that I cannot get any starting power to the house lights/power or generator.  I am new to motorhomes so I need some guidance.  Main battery connect/disconnect works fine, and when I hit the switch I hear a thud from under the hood and the main battery is either on or off.  The aux battery switch seems to do nothing, so I have no 12 volt power working in the motorhome, and I cannot start the generator.  Are these related?  Could my house batteries just be dead?  I picked it up today and drove it 2.5 hours home; shouldnt' the house batteries have gotten charged up in that time?  Any assistance or guidance would be greatly appreciated.  Thank you.

Sounds like your house batteries may not be fully charged or they may need replacing.  You need to plug the motorhome into an electrical outlet and let the batteries get a full charge which means leaving it plugged in for 24 hours.  Also, check to make sure the batteries have water (distilled).  Then try your 12 volt system.

The auxiliary switch is most likely to help start the RV incase your coach (engine) battery is drained down or dead.  It is not used to turn on/off the 12 volt system.

Plug it in, let the batteries charge then see how things are working.

BTW, a couple of hours driving home is not enough to fully charge the batteries.

Marsha~