I'm wanting opinions? or Ideas.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

RV Crazy

I am currently an electrical contractor with a Master's Card.  Since I am self employed, the thought of total retirement is "SLIM" at best but I would like to travel.  I am thinking that there may be an opening for such work camping doing electrical work for lot and $$$$$.  Now if anyone thinks that must be licensed in the state of work, that is true for NEW work but not maintenance.  Has anyone heard of such a market and if so where do you think I should go to inquire?

Sounds like it could work. I dont know of any one source for jobs like that but i would call parks where i want to travel.

We have been in a lot of parks/campgrounds in the last five years (250+ nights per year). We see a lot of electrical repairs but have never seen an electrician doing them, except a rare time when an outside electrician was working on a distribution panel. Normally we see the owner, or a general purpose maintenance person doing the repairs. They might be working on a picnic table repair or cutting grass right after they fix a campground electrical pedestal. The few we have gotten to know are workampers who work for site, not site and money. Perhaps a very large operation might have an electrician on staff. That said, it never hurts to ask. The worse that can happen is the park can say no thanks. Good luck in your effort.

I don't think most campground owners have enough electrical work to pay for a fulltime electrician on their crew, but they would probably love to have a qualified one if they also did other work. You probably wouldn't get paid what you are worth, but that is perhaps negotiable for extra pay when you do tasks that require your skills.  And you might find a campground that has a backlog of electrical work or some special projects in mind.