How to install tile in your RV.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Tileman

I've been a tile contractor for 40 years. I developed materials for tiling surfaces that flex, for the fiberglass pool industry. That industry has done more than 100,000 tile installs with no problems. Stupid me, I've tiled my last 4 RVs but I never had the thought that my RV friends would be interested. Here are photos of my 1996 Fleetwod storm tile installs and a "How to" guide. The additional weight is about 3 pounds per sq. ft. minus the weight of what you remove to do the tile work.

Moved link to signature      -scottydl

Thanks Tileman, I'm sure that will come in handy. Many here do their own remodel and we are alwyas looking for tips. Welcome to the forum also.

Ive been a tile contractor for 22 years, and tiled my class c bathroom. I used wedi board and AO 4 1/4 on the walls. For adhesive, i went with tech superflex. So far no issues.  The kitchen counter was done in Baltic brown granite.

Ranger, that kitchen sounds beautiful. If you have a photo, please post it. My process utilizes "Silicone Rubber Grout" It's listed in the Tile Council of America handbook, but few peuple have ever heard of it. The silicone rubber adhesive is custom formulated. You can tile over wall paneling and wood or any surface that bends or flexes.

Looks like some nice work on your blog. Seems that you and I have, with 40+ years each, most of the flooring experience here to help folks.

For the tile experts, is there any reason you'd suggest tile flooring instead of the snap-together faux wood flooring that's popular these days?  Eventually I'll be redoing some of my floor and I'm always open to suggestions.

Tileman,

Is it cementicious, or is it 100% silicone? Is it available as a sanded grout? Regardless, it would seem to solve a big problem as far as tiling rvs are concerned.