rvupgradestore.com Composet Products Fridge Defend
RV Life Magazine RV Park Reviews RV Trip Wizard

Author Topic: Anyone ever towed a Rav4?  (Read 30355 times)

lvlyfun

• ---
Anyone ever towed a Rav4?
« on: April 10, 2012, 11:36:57 PM »
I've got a 2001 manual Rav4. I want to tow it behind the rig I can barely drive now, "just in case" I might need it, and for of course, in town adventures later. Does anyone know how you can safely tow this type of vehicle?

Ned

• Former Staff
  • ---
  • Ned and Lorna are former full time RVers
    • Have you seen Rolling Stock?
Re: Anyone ever towed a Rav4?
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2012, 07:35:25 AM »
According to Remco, your RAV4 is towable as is.
-- Ned -- Fulltimer 1997-2013
1997 Holiday Rambler Endeavor LE
2007 GMC Canyon

NY_Dutch

• ---
  • We go where our wheels take us!
« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2012, 08:26:17 AM »
I've been towing a 2002 RAV4 for several years, and except for the steeper hills, wouldn't know it was back there if I couldn't see it on the rear view monitor. I've just finished stripping all of the tow gear from the 2002 in preparation for installing everything on our 2011 RAV4. The 2011 uses a different base plate, but everything else will move right over. 
Dutch
2001 GBM Landau 34' Class A
F53 Chassis, Triton V10, TST TPMS
2011 Toyota RAV4 4WD/Remco pump
ReadyBrute Elite tow bar/Blue Ox base plate

lvlyfun

• ---
« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2012, 03:18:42 PM »
So you just dinghy towed it and all was well? No adjustments made? I've heard some horror stories of tranny's going out and such and I can't afford a big boo boo like that. Really can't.  :-\

Ned

• Former Staff
  • ---
« Reply #4 on: April 11, 2012, 03:35:35 PM »