Anyone ever towed a Rav4?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

lvlyfun

I've got a 2001 manual Rav4. I want to tow it behind the rig I can barely drive now, "just in case" I might need it, and for of course, in town adventures later. Does anyone know how you can safely tow this type of vehicle?

I've been towing a 2002 RAV4 for several years, and except for the steeper hills, wouldn't know it was back there if I couldn't see it on the rear view monitor. I've just finished stripping all of the tow gear from the 2002 in preparation for installing everything on our 2011 RAV4. The 2011 uses a different base plate, but everything else will move right over. 

So you just dinghy towed it and all was well? No adjustments made? I've heard some horror stories of tranny's going out and such and I can't afford a big boo boo like that. Really can't.  :-\

Follow the instructions in the owner's manual for towing 4 down and you'll not have any problems.  The occasions of transmission failure are rare and are almost always due to a failure to follow the proper procedure when setting up for towing.  We have towed 3 different vehicles for over 130,000 miles and have never had a transmission problem, as have thousands of other RVers.