Voluntary repossession

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Status
Not open for further replies.

jmercado

Is there anybody out there that has been through a voluntary repossession? I'm in the process of going through one. I understand I'll take a hit on my credit report. I tried going the right way by short selling it but it's been about 6-months and no takers. I'm prepared to take the hit. What I don't know is how long the bank will allow me to pay the difference once they have auction it off. If anybody has any experience with this, I would love to hear from you.

Typically they will work with you on monthly payments after they send it to auction and figure out how much you owe them. Sometimes they also will settle for a lesser amount than you owe.

I'm not an expert on this but I did buy my coach on a short sale from the previous owner. The bank in our case arranged a loan for the previous owner which was the unpaid balance after I paid our agreed upon purchase price. So, going into the actual closing everyone knew what money was going where.

If you are simply turning the unit back to the bank and they have to go thru the expense of an auction or try to sell on their own they may want to recoup those costs also from you, which may cost you more in the long run than a really screaming short sale deal to someone in a private transaction.

I would really, really, really, urge you to go talk directly to the bank and explore all the options. Find out from them if they will negotiate a price with you for a payoff. Every bank is in a different position regarding writing off losses. Some are willing to deal some are not. A face to face meeting and discussion of the options is going to give you the best outcome.