Spending the Winter in Mexico

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

eddieelk

If events in November are not to my liking, I'm considering spending the winter south of the border instead of South Texas as I have done for the past 7 years. I understand the security problems, etc. I would like to hear from thoseof you thst go south of the border for the winter, including some ideas of location, costs, health coverage, safety, etc. Thanks for your replies.  Eddie Elk.

Eddie...

I wasn't going to say anything until I saw the word "safety" in your posting. I figure (most) folks are, to a certain degree, somewhat aware of what's going on in Mexico and can make their own decisions. I've been a San Diego police officer for more than 30 years. I fly a police helicopter along the border every night and I receive regular intelligence briefings from the DEA, other law enforcement agencies and my own department on what's going on throughout Mexico. I'm not paranoid about what's going on south of the border, but I am aware.

My wife (also in law enforcement - a Deputy District Attorney) and I used to fly our plane deep into Baja to visit various resorts. When we sold the plane and bought a motorhome, we used to take it down there. We traveled with our kids and other RVers and had a great time. Corruption and drug-related hazards have always plagued Mexico and, like now, we were aware of the risks, but I can't emphasize this enough... The risks then (15 years ago) were NOTHING compared to what they are today. You don't have to go looking for trouble in Mexico to find it. You're only hearing what the news is telling you.