Flowjet wiring help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

WmMike

I recently purchased a Flojet portable waste pump Model 18555-000. I wish the pump came wired up with a regular plug or adapter to plug into the regular plug inside of the camper. Is there any way I could wire this so I can plug it into a regular camper outlet? I don't have a battery, and if I bought one, the battery terminals are on the opposite side of the camper (about 30ft). The pump only includes 6ft of wire. I have no wiring experience at all. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks, Mike

Since the pump is designed to run from 12VDC, you'll need a battery to power it.  According to the data sheet, it apparently comes with a fused switch and all wiring necessary to connect it to a 20A source of power from the battery.

We use a macerator as well, have been (dumped full load last weekend) using a jump box for the 12V and pumping through a 100' garden hose.  Much easier without the previous ordeal with jumper cables run to the onboard battery in the front compartment.

Thanks for the replies. What kind of jump box do you recommend? Is there a certain amp or peak power that it should be? I wasn't aware that jump boxes supplied a continuous current. What kinda price range are we talking about here? Probably be cheaper to just get a battery although the jump box sounds like the easier way to go.

The Flojet will draw near 20 amps for several minutes (time and max amps depends on the size of the tank being emptied and the size of the discharge hose).

NO, there is not.. The unit uses a 20 amp fuse, the regular 12 volt convinence outlet in the camper is not up to that kind of load, you stand a real good chance of damage if you try that.

So what did I do.. Anderson power poles.