Smell from black water holding tank in park model , 250 gallon holding tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

njjane

I have a lil log cabin  park model with a 250 gallon holding tank.  How often should I have it pumped and what to do if it smells all the time after each flush?  I am new to this all.  What chemicals if any do you recommend.  Thanks

We (two people) get about 10 days on our 35 gallon tank so if your usage is similar you would get about 70 days before needing to be pumped.

Except for the roof vent your system should be sealed and if there is an odor from somewhere else there is a problem that needs to be fixed.
The only non problem cause I can think of is is using an exhaust fan while flushing.

Most/many  RVers don't use chemicals - just water. Your case is a little different since you are holding the waste longer than most of us. I wouldn't use any chemicals that kill bacteria since you want them working in the tank. Maybe one of the enzyme type products could be used but i am not certain you need anything at all.

Maybe your roof vent is clogged.  Or like mine, the vent line goes part way into the tank, so if it's more than half, the vent is blocked.

Just had my tank pumped at the end of last season.  Had it winterized, and then de-winterized before using and then put enzymes in tank.  Still smells when you flush.. Any other thoughts or ideas?

Did it smell last year?
What kind of toilet?
Do you run the bathroom fan when flushing? If you do, don't.

It will smell more without a bit of water at the bottom.  I always add like 4 gallons of water in my 30 gal tank after dumping it.

Yes it did smell at the end of last season.  I had it pumped and never used it again till this past weekend.