Moab Jeepin'

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

KarenS144

I sure wish we could have made the Moab Rally and learned the ropes...errrmmm...trails but we just couldn't make it happen this year.  I've planted the seed for next year though!

We're planning to be in the Moab area in early September and would like to do some of the jeep trails.  We're total NOOBS (and probably boobs too) when it comes to off pavement driving.  We've got the 2nd edition of "Guide to Moab, UT Backroads & 4 Wheel Drive Trails" and have read through it about a dozen times.  Reading isn't doing though!

Our Jeep is a stock '10 Wrangler - manual tranny
DH is wanting to get some kevlar off road tires and skid plates thinking we could do some of the "moderate" trails.  I don't think we're in for wrenching, lifting, jacking, stacking and white knuckling on many of the "Difficult" trails.

Are there other jeep mods we should consider?

I think a 6 month minimum stay in the Moab area would be needed but we're probably only going to be there for about a week.  What are some of the must do trails that aren't rated as Difficult?

DH wants to get into the La Sal Nat Forest area and do some fly fishing.  I think he's got a couple of trails in mind for that.

Better yet, is there anyone planning to be in that area in early Sept that will be driving the trails ( and knows what they're doing)?  ;)

Onion Creek is one of our favorites. You see all the different landscapes of Moab from red rock canyons to pine trees in the La Sals. And we did it last year in our VW :)  Chicken Corners is another favorite. There are so many trails, so little time. Be ready, tho, early September will still be hot in Moab. You might want to plan more trips on trails that go UP where it's cooler.

Enjoy
Wendy