Do I have enough truck for this?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

24mvp

Hi All,
I am a newbie RV'er.
I bought a 24' MVP Vortex. GVWR 9,980. Dry weight 6,520. Hitch weight 1,210.
I want to tow it with a 2010 F-150 supercrew shortbed with the 5.4L engine, 2WD.  It has the factory tow package. Class 4 with the trans cooler and upgraded radiator.  It has a 3.55 limited slip differential. I will use the weight distribution hitch and electronic trailer brakes.
Am I out of line here?
If this truck will tow this setup, should i use tow/haul all the time or just in hilly areas?
I know i should try to tow this dry as it holds 100 gallons of fresh water but i would like to occasionally put two Harley's in the back, approx. 1400 lb.
What do you guys think?

Well, it sounds like you should be okay, but you need to go here and check the specific setup for your truck.  You got most of the details, but left out some info.  http://www.trailerlife.com/trailer-towing-guides/

I would use tow-haul all the time.  I do with mine (except when I forget to engage it after a stop!). 

Good luck!

That looks like to much trailer for that truck.  you should stay within 80% of your max tow rating for a comfortable ride.  Putting your motorcycles in the back will really put you over the limit if your trailer is 1200 pounds at the tongue.  You may want to consider at least going to a 3/4 ton Truck.

You are on the hairy edge with that trailer if it is fully loaded (and toyhaulers usually are). Per Ford's own Towing Guide, the F150 Supercrew tow capacity for your configurations is either 9700 or 9800 lbs. But that number has to be decreased if you carry even a single passenger in the truck, and also for the weight of any gear in the truck, including the hitch itself. My guess is that you are going to end up slightly over the trucks GCWR (max combined truck + trailer).