Living in a travel trailer vs an apartment

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

alrey40

I'm weighing my choices right now and would like any advice or comments from fellow RVer's.  I am looking at selling my house soon and moving to the Seguin Texas area, where my oldest daughter lives.  I plan to by a house again in the future, but until I"m sure I want to live in that area or move further south to the coast, I don't want to purchase a home.  So my options seem to be to rent a house or apartment which most seemed to be over $1000 a month or buy a travel trailer and live at one of the RV parks.  It will be myself, my teenage daughter (soon to be 18 and home schooled) and our dog for probably a year. I still have to work for a living (which right now I'm unemployed) so the cheaper route plays a big part in my decision.  Any advice on what brand of trailers, size, the pitfalls of living in one vs an apartment.  All advice welcomed, please.

Whether to live in an rv or an apartment may really boil down to two determining factors. Can you afford to purchase a trailer large enough and in good enough condition to not require a lot of rework or maintenance, and are you prepared to handle the trailer upkeep on your own? Living in an apartment means only a small upfront cash outlay and upkeep and maintenance is done by others. Purchasing a travel trailer will require more cash up front and you will be responsible for maintenance and upkeep. In addition, the TT will lose some value while you use it so you will not recover all your cash back when you no longer need it and wish to sell. The other issue with a trailer is a vehicle to tow it with, unless you are going to have it set in place.