A&E Sun Chaser awning fabric replacement (Easy DIY method)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

rddub

Hi all,

Just joined after gleaning a lot of good info over the years.  I shall attempt to give back a little.  On a recent trip I left my awning out with a storm brewing...Lesson learned..Close it up before you leave.  I hit the web a found a replacement and ordered from http://www.rvpartscountry.com/RVAwnings.  It was received in short order.  I studied the A&E replacement guide and scoured the web.  Everything seemed to involve messing with tension springs ???  I was determined to do it without touching the springs.  Knuckle heads such as myself should never play with things under high tension.  Mr. Murphy is always waiting in the wings.  Pictures below show how I did it.  It was very painless and took about 2.5 hours (including beer breaks).  It required three helpers, A drill motor/3/8" bit, Dremel with cutting wheel and cylinder grinding bit, Dicor 501LSW self-leveling lap cement (great stuff BTW), Latex caulk and a cold 12 pack for the helpers.

Hope this helps...Ron

Attachments

• Step 1 support.jpg
    Step 1 support.jpg
    67 KB · Views: 298
  • Step 2 disconnect top mount.jpg
    Step 2 disconnect top mount.jpg
    54.3 KB · Views: 249
  • step 3 drill out cap.jpg
    step 3 drill out cap.jpg
    52.7 KB · Views: 248
  • step 4 cut notch-debur.jpg
    step 4 cut notch-debur.jpg
    53.2 KB · Views: 248
  • step 5 slid on bottom.jpg
    step 5 slid on bottom.jpg
    70.6 KB · Views: 240
  • step 5A slide on top.jpg
    step 5A slide on top.jpg
    39.2 KB · Views: 229
  • step 6 reattatch top mount and roll up-Done..jpg
    step 6 reattatch top mount and roll up-Done..jpg
    78 KB · Views: 228