Minimum 4-wheeling equipment

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Tom,

Both our stock Geo Trackers and Suzuki Grand Vitaras got us to many places that a car might not go.

As you know, we were not into "extreme" off roading but we did do some trails in Moab that Jeeps seemed to hesitate a little. I think driver awareness has a lot to do with the success of making, or not making, a trail. I'm far from an expert but had a lot of fun in the past. Those times are probably over except for riding with someone.

One year Terry B. and I did a trip up the Calcite Mine trail in Anza Borrego. We both had Grand Vitaras at the time. It was a little rough but we made it successfully. When Terry checked in with a Ranger about another trail he was told the Calcite Mine trail was not driveable!!  :) :)

Unless you want to do the really hard stuff, there are many vehicles available the do not require mortgaging the farm to obtain. I sure would love a fully equipped Rubicon but it's just not practical for us at this time in our life.

Thanks for all the replies. Understand the desire  &/or need to lower tire pressures, but doesn't that cause premature failure?

I don't want to, and do not do really hard stuff, or extreme off roading. But one of the problems in today's world, is you can't do what you use to do. (usta). Areas are being closed across the country for revegatation and making them wilderness areas.

In some places, where you drove a nice scenic road to go for a hike, now requires a high clearance4 wheel drive suv.

So I would have to say the Minimum 4-wheeling equipment would be a high clearence suv, and a good understanding of how the trail rating system works.

Tom said:
Thanks for all the replies. Understand the desire  &/or need to lower tire pressures, but doesn't that cause premature failure?