adding water to tanks while on stabilizer jacks

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an RV or an interest in RVing!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

flakeyskamper

I'm new to camping. I have a Kodiak 200QB ( two axle tow behind trailer ). I have 28 gal black and 39 gal grey tanks.  I have set up in a CG for first time, on level ground, chocks placed, tongue jack used to level,  attached stabilizer jacks extended to just put a little pressure on the ground. I have read it is best to fill black water tank to at least 1/2 before dumping. But I am on a site with sewer hookup, and am using site supplied fresh water. So I should still fill black tank at least 1/2 full, then dump? And of course save grey water in onboard tank to flush the hose? If so, then will the added water weight put too much pressure on the stabilizers as the axle springs flex under the added water weight? I could use some advise here before I wreck something. Thank You!

Your fine...  :D

I setup the same way. Majority of your weight is on the trailer axles all the jacks do is keep the rig from bouncing or rocking.

So I should still fill black tank at least 1/2 full, then dump?
You can never have too much water in the black tank before dumping. That is what flushes all the solids out. Do minimum half tank, more if you can.

Instead of filling the black tank partially, just add about 5 gallons and use plenty of water when you flush.

Don't worry about the weight, you trailer is made for it. Enjoy your trip and have fun! Dump the tank when its full or when you feel comfortable.

Have a Beer and some BBQ and don't sweat the small stuff!!! ;D ;D

Steve

flakeyskamper said: