EPDM Coatings
rvupgradestore.com Composet Products PO Box Zone
Over The Network Custom Yacht Interiors

Author Topic: Stuck in Italy with 6 amps!  (Read 4605 times)

Stealthbusa

  • ---
  • Posts: 48
  • Winnebago Adventurer 34RQ (1997)
Stuck in Italy with 6 amps!
« on: July 16, 2012, 02:06:25 PM »
Hi all,

We are doing the 6 Mth tour of Italy and most of the sites offer between 3-6 amps of shore power. I can even run the kettle at this rate not to mention the a/c. My wife and I were looking at the hook up points and noticed that the main breaker is rated at 40 amps and then splits down to 6 amp breakers per hook up input. We had two ideas, one was to buy a 12 amp breaker to slide in place of the 6 amp (we seem to have a box to ourselves most times). The second and this is the big question was to buy another shore power connector and split the cable to the RV. The thinking is if we plug in to two sockets with one cable we would get 12 amps.

Have we been drinking too much Italian beer or would this work?

As always thanks for any replies.

Wizard46

  • ---
  • Posts: 2019
Re: Stuck in Italy with 6 amps!
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2012, 06:48:17 PM »
I would go with the new 12 amp breaker. The other way you mention would just be too dangerous.
Jerry & Patsy Potter, Taz & Jake Jr.
2000 Winnebago Journey
2006 Ford Explorer 4X4
Home: Milledgeville Ga.

Tom

  • Administrator
  • ---
  • *
  • Posts: 44373
    • RV Forum web site
Re: Stuck in Italy with 6 amps!
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2012, 07:01:43 PM »
I respectfully have to disagree with Jerry (Wizard46). Installing a different breaker in the provider's service box might get you in trouble. Running a second/split cable to a second hookup, worst case, you can plead ignorance and just unplug it. Are you in a campground or at a city hookup?

Edit: BTW folks here might not realize that the 6A hookup is 220/240 volts.
« Last Edit: July 16, 2012, 07:50:08 PM by Tom »
Tom.  Need help? Click the Help button in the toolbar above.

John From Detroit

  • ---
  • Posts: 19615
  • ^My New Home^
    • Diabetics Forum
Re: Stuck in Italy with 6 amps!
« Reply #3 on: July 16, 2012, 07:36:10 PM »
I would need to know more about the box.

What you do is use the six amps to charge the on board battery

Then use your INVERTER to put the kettle on.

Or better yet: If you can split out your converter (mine is a plug in model so that is easy) use one cord for it, and one for,,, other things.  and use the inverter to put the kettle on.
Nothing adds excitement like something that is none of your business
My Home is where I park it.

Wizard46

  • ---
  • Posts: 2019
Re: Stuck in Italy with 6 amps!
« Reply #4 on: July 16, 2012, 10:07:18 PM »
My thinking was that two male plugs on one cord would mean that if one was ever unplugged with the breakers on, the pins on it would be hot, very dangerous.

Agree, also definitely talk with the owner before changing his breaker.
Jerry & Patsy Potter, Taz & Jake Jr.
2000 Winnebago Journey
2006 Ford Explorer 4X4
Home: Milledgeville Ga.

Stealthbusa

  • ---
  • Posts: 48
  • Winnebago Adventurer 34RQ (1997)
Re: Stuck in Italy with 6 amps!
« Reply #5 on: July 17, 2012, 02:24:55 AM »
Guys much appreciate your responses.

The main driver is to get the a/c working, it's 9am and 100 degrees.

Wizard, are you saying that with the twin plug if one circuit (socket) tripped out this would heat the other plug. My thinking is that it would only be 6amps running the the other socket? Sorry if I am being thick.

With regard to changing the breaker, if we ask then it would not be allowed. However, following the Italian trend of just do it ( or was that Nike?) we are far enough away from anyone for them to check. This is the problem of having an RV in Europe, you can't fit anywhere.

Thanks again all

Tom

  • Administrator
  • ---
  • *
  • Posts: 44373
    • RV Forum web site
Re: Stuck in Italy with 6 amps!
« Reply #6 on: July 17, 2012, 07:13:29 AM »
Jerry's use of the term 'hot' means 'live', and he makes a very good point; Someone could be killed if they unplugged one of the plugs and touched the pins. Given that, I'd prefer to beg for forgiveness (for changing the breaker).
« Last Edit: July 17, 2012, 07:15:10 AM by Tom »
Tom.  Need help? Click the Help button in the toolbar above.

Wizard46

  • ---
  • Posts: 2019
Re: Stuck in Italy with 6 amps!
« Reply #7 on: July 17, 2012, 07:15:13 AM »
Wizard, are you saying that with the twin plug if one circuit (socket) tripped out this would heat the other plug. My thinking is that it would only be 6amps running the the other socket? Sorry if I am being thick.


No, it would just trip the other breaker too.
« Last Edit: July 17, 2012, 07:17:33 AM by Wizard46 »
Jerry & Patsy Potter, Taz & Jake Jr.
2000 Winnebago Journey
2006 Ford Explorer 4X4
Home: Milledgeville Ga.

John From Detroit

  • ---
  • Posts: 19615
  • ^My New Home^
    • Diabetics Forum
Re: Stuck in Italy with 6 amps!
« Reply #8 on: July 17, 2012, 10:39:15 AM »
Another thing about fuses or circuit breakers in parallel...

You think that if I put two N amp breakers in parallel I get 2N amps, Right.

Wrong,  Electricity tends to the path of least resistance,  Thus if the paths are not IDENTICAL one breaker will carry more current, perhaps as much as twice what the other breaker carries, and when it trips, the other follows Usually 1/120 second later.
Nothing adds excitement like something that is none of your business
My Home is where I park it.

Stealthbusa

  • ---
  • Posts: 48
  • Winnebago Adventurer 34RQ (1997)
Re: Stuck in Italy with 6 amps!
« Reply #9 on: July 18, 2012, 04:40:58 AM »
Guys,

The hot Plug scenario sent a shiver down my spine. Think I will go for the larger breaking instead of the prison sentence. Really really appreciate everyone's help.

Now to find an Italian hardware store  :o

Stealthbusa

  • ---
  • Posts: 48
  • Winnebago Adventurer 34RQ (1997)
Re: Stuck in Italy with 6 amps!
« Reply #10 on: July 19, 2012, 12:11:51 PM »
Gents,

Quick update, just bumped in to a German guy camping next to us. I was talking about the a/c and he said his runs fine. Upon a deeper conversation he suggested that I changed the refrigerator over to gas and then try the a/c. Well hey presto it fired up and I am typing whilst under a cool vent!

I didn't even think about the draw from the fridge, what an idiot! I hope maybe my stupidity will help someone else stuck with 6 amps.

Thank you all very much for your help and advice, my apologies if I have wasted your time.

Ps, the RV draws a huge crowd when we pull up on the Italian sites, especially when I have to reverse into a tight spot. Most peoples jaws drop when I tell them that 34 ft is a small RV in America. God bless Uncle Sam ;-)

Elly Dalmaijer

  • ---
  • Posts: 352
Re: Stuck in Italy with 6 amps!
« Reply #11 on: July 24, 2012, 06:21:52 PM »
And you can boil water on the stove ;-)

Elly
Either at home in St Albert AB or working in Africa or in our 1993 Itasca Sunrise.

Ken & Sheila

  • Forum Staff
  • ---
  • *
  • Posts: 3632
  • Smokey 3
Re: Stuck in Italy with 6 amps!
« Reply #12 on: July 24, 2012, 06:30:06 PM »
For those that don't know the power in Italy is 220volts at 50cycles vs out 120volts at 60cycles.
So their 6amps is closer to 12amps of power here in the states.

 
Ken & Sheila
2009 Monaco Camelot 42 PDQ
2008 Jeep Liberty, 2006 Saturn Vue
Fur-ball kids: Ariel and Mia

sallylillian

  • Posts: 2
Re: Stuck in Italy with 6 amps!
« Reply #13 on: August 26, 2012, 06:17:54 AM »
As someone who RV's in Europe I can say that the cable "doubler" concept works fine for me! Only had one time where I took down the main post breaker! As another poster highlighted the power is at 230 volts so Euro 6 amps  = US 12 on the coach. Not sure how you are managing the conversion?
Michael Slater
2008 CC Allure
Falmouth UK

Stealthbusa

  • ---
  • Posts: 48
  • Winnebago Adventurer 34RQ (1997)
Re: Stuck in Italy with 6 amps!
« Reply #14 on: August 27, 2012, 07:41:39 AM »
Doubled my cable and it works a treat, thank god because it's 120 degrees!!!

stephen44

  • ---
  • Posts: 37
Re: Stuck in Italy with 6 amps!
« Reply #15 on: August 27, 2012, 11:42:04 AM »
As someone who RV's in Europe I can say that the cable "doubler" concept works fine for me! Only had one time where I took down the main post breaker! As another poster highlighted the power is at 230 volts so Euro 6 amps  = US 12 on the coach. Not sure how you are managing the conversion?

and they are 50Hz and not 60Hz

Stephen

 

Hosted by Over The Network